Stumptown 2013 Post-Carnage Report

Holy cow, folks!  What a weekend!  Stumptown Comics Fest was fantastic! Thank you to everyone who came by to show support or purchase some books from the amazing artists exhibiting.   Before I launch into Stumptown details, a couple quick announcements:

BACK ISSUES

I have started a (hopefully) ongoing podcast with Justin Fah of In This Issue Podcast, where we analyze older comics that we find interesting or declare “must read’s”. The first one was released this week. Check it out as we discuss Green Lantern: Willworld, drawn by one of my favorite artists, Seth Fisher.  Click below or subscribe to In This Issue podcast on iTunes:

Back Issues- Green Lantern Willworld

REVIEWS & SUCH

Those fine folks over at Spandexless saw fit to finish up the Gary series with another kind review:

Gary: Book Three Review

Screen shot 2013-05-02 at 10.33.28 PM

They also took the time to explore one of my older Simon comics, “Mercy”

Simon: “Mercy” Analysis

Screen shot 2013-05-02 at 10.33.42 PM

Now on to the wacky exploits at STUMPTOWN…

stump13-table

Manning the table with me was my trusty sidekick (and younger brother) Logan.  

He also helped create the newest Simon comic, which we had available at the show.

stump13-jamSo attendees were given these awesome jam-poster one sheets, which they could bring to artists to fill in.  

I did a few throughout the weekend, including this Simon piece.

stump13-jam1I was stoked to also contribute to a jam poster featuring one of my current comic heroes, Brandon Graham.

I’d like to think this is just our first collaboration.

stump13-prophet

Speaking of Brandon Graham, I geeked out at how he one-upped Simon Roy’s signature on my

Prophet TPB.  Farel Dalrymple also added his own touch.  Dirty fellows.

I also picked up Farel’s It Will All Hurt from Study Group Comics.

stump13-jackI was fortunate to be surrounded on all sides by some of my amazing comic book colleagues,

including Mr. Jack Bracken, who did this wonderfully racy poem for me.

stump13-IPRCReid Psaltis took a time out to show me around Portland’s very own IPRC.  Cool joint!

stump13-food

And of course, there was much food and drink to be had.  From left to right/top to bottom:

Broder, Pacific Pie (x2), Little Big Burger, Biwa, Blue Star Donuts, Lardo’s, Teardrop, more Blue Star.

Not pictured: Bunk, Luc Lac, Pine State Biscuits, Wurst

I’m not great about taking pictures, so you’ll have to look through the Stumptown Tumblr to find more shots of me and other exhibitors.

ART BATTLE

In the 11th hour, I was invited to participate in the famous Art Battle at the Stumptown afterparty, hosted by Ezra Clayton Daniels!  My team was doomed to lose as we were the ‘away team’ vs. the Portland home team.  But we gave it our best shot, fighting through language barriers (I’ve never had to explain auto-erotic asphyxiation to a frenchman before), shake-weights, and insults.  Really, I thought including Robocop in our G.I. Joe team drawing would ensure our win.  But hey, it was all in good fun.

I had an awesome trip.  Special shout out to The Con Crew: Josh Shalek, Neil Brideau, Reid Psaltis, Kenan Rubenstein, & Jack Bracken.  Finally all of us in one place!  Couldn’t ask for a better group of creators to share a convention with.   Also it was great to see the incorrigible Beth Hetland, the lovely Nomi Kane, and the edgy Ezra Clayton Daniels.

I have some BIG announcements coming in my next post. So stayed tuned next week for the details!

Screen shot 2013-05-02 at 10.15.01 PM

stump13-hoodbye bye Portland…

Leave a Reply

