CAKE 2013 Post-Carnage Report

WHOA!  What a whirlwind of a couple weeks!  So many awesome things to cover, so here we go:

CAKE 2013

CAKE was… awesome.  I had a fantastic time talking to everyone who stopped by the table and meeting the other amazing artists that were tabling.  Here’s what it looked like:

CAKEsetup

before set up.
CAKEtable1

My table, in all its glory.

CAKEtable3

Table buddies! (with Beth Hetland).

It was great to finally get Victus out into people’s hands.  If you picked up a copy, I’d love to hear what you thought of it!  There were some new and old faces, and everyone was showcasing some great comics.  There are so many and I’m sure I’ll forget some, so please forgive me.  I’ll start with a snapshot of the books I picked up:

CAKEhaul1

CAKEhaul2

Here’s what’s up there:

Upgrade Soul: Ezra Clayton Daniels (check out the paper version of this digital comic. The story is phenomenal sci-fi)

Last Mountain: Dakota MacFadzean (table pal! gorgeous inks!)

Titus and the Cyber Sun: Lale Westvind (will melt your mind)

The Reverie #2: Malachi Ward (Malachi pretty much rocks it again)

Dear Dear & Sorry Sheets: Eroyn Franklin (‘slow core’ comics with no equal)

Tiger Beat Exclusive: Gina Wynbrandt (mega funny follow up to her first love affair with Justin Beiber)

King Crow Comics (and others): Scott Kroll (new to the scene, but super funny books)

Next World Over & Equilibristics: Ian McDuffie (these book are bonkers.  I love it)

Roots: Mita Mahato (beautifully hand0crafted book)

Glamera & Werewolf anthology: Penina Gal & Betsy Swardlick (table pals!)

Dumb #1: Georgia Webber (amazing book about losing her voice)

Copulate & The Excorcist: Lyra Hill (of brain frame fame!)

Library: Marnie Galloway (Marnie told me this was a true story)

Depictions #2: R. Hendricks (of Stranger to Stranger!)

Dig: Isabella Rotman (I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again: keep an eye on this creator!)

Hasty Pastry: Ali Cantarella (adventures in customer service)

1-800-Kravlox: Isabel Reidy (oh my oh my.  silliness abound! 🙂

Fire Messenger: Penina Gal (the other side of having super powers)

Drag Bandits: Betsy Swardlick & Colleen Frakes

Whew… Lots of great stuff, as you can see!  I also was able to see some other old pals: Sean Dove, Beth Hetland (table-mate!), Kyle O’Connell, Kenan Rubenstein, Emi Gennis, and many more!  What cool comics did you get at the show?

MODERN STORYTELLERS

The show was a success!  The gallery was filled with some amazing artists and appreciators of art!  Here’s a couple snap shots:

modern1 modern2

I pretend to know what I’m talking about as Marnie Galloway’s beautiful work can be seen adjacent to mine.

If you haven’t checked out the show yet, you still have some time.  Head on over to Ugly Step Sister Gallery: http://www.uglystepsisterartgallery.com/

GARY: BOOK ONE on COMIXOLOGY!

Some folks have been asking, and it finally happened: Gary is available for digital download via the Comixology app! Click the link to download:

Gary: Book One

gary comixology

For now, only Book One is available.  But Books Two and Three should be coming in the next few months.  If you go download it, please take an extra moment to give it a rating, as that helps the book’s visibility on the site.  And actually it’s worth mentioning, this is currently the only place you can get Gary: Book One, as I have sold out of the paper copies.  The fine folks over and IGN gave the book a “B”, which ain’t bad either: IGN Comixology Reviews

So head over and check it out!

BACK ISSUES

Justin and I did another episode of the Back Issues Podcast.  We discuss the incredible All Star Superman, by Grant Morrison & Frank Quitely.  Just in time for the new Superman Movie, Man of Steel!  Listen to us ramble & then subscribe:

In This Issue: Back Issues

back issues logo

VICTUS update

I assure you, I’m plugging away on Victus #2.  But don’t hold your breath.  I’ll have some process pics soonish.  In the meantime, Victus #1 is available at these fine retailers:

Graham Cracker Comics, Chicago (downtown)

Quimby’s, Chicago

Challengers Comics & Conversation, Chicago

Star Clipper, St. Louis

Thanks for reading all!  And now your moment of Zen…

clouds

2 Comments on “CAKE 2013 Post-Carnage Report”

  1. Thanks! I’m glad you think my books are funny, That’s how I snared people as they walked past my table, “Hey, you! Do you like humorous science fiction? ‘Cuz that’s what I’m selling.”

  2. […] met Georgia at C.A.K.E this year.  That show was full of some of my favorite artists, but Georgia’s work really […]


Leave a Reply

