S.P.A.C.E. Post-carnage, C2E2 this weekend!

YO YO!

I feel like I’ve gone through a comics ‘right of passage’.  I exhibited at the legendary S.P.A.C.E.  One of the longest running indie comic conventions in the states.  It was one of the most welcoming shows I’ve ever attended and featured a very diverse collection of comics creators.  I was tabling with my buddy Scott Kroll.  Here’s a our table:

SPACE14-table

We had a nice time meeting other folks and we even did a couple jam pieces.  Here is a Prophet that I pencilled and Scott inked:

SPACE14-prophet-jam

I also had the opportunity to do a fun Tools & Techniques panel discussion featuring Scott Kraynak, Matt Kish, and Pam Bliss.  We talked about their process’s and did some demos.  Check out their work!

One of the big bonus’s of the trip was seeing the Bill Watterson “Exploring Calvin & Hobbes” art exhibit at the Billy Ireland Cartoon Library.  It was … almost like a religious experience.  I grew up on Calvin & Hobbes and still aspire to create work at the level of Mr. Watterson’s.  Here are some shots:

SPACE14-watterson SPACE14-watterson1 SPACE14-watterson2

It was amazing.  If you are even REMOTELY close to Columbus, OH, you NEED to go to this show.

On top of all that, we saw Nate Powell sing heavy metal at the after-party karaoke.

C2E2 THIS WEEKEND!

That’s right, Chicago’s best mainstream comics show is this weekend!  I’ll be there tabling with my buddies, Daniel Warren Johnson & Mike Manomivibul.

tumblr_n4e3jskCMN1twn3lko1_1280

Along with our normal stock of awesome comics, we’ll have the new Speculative Relationships postcards and posters:

tumblr_n416rfKXX71twn3lko1_1280

And I’ll have 1 new print, which is the teaser image for Victus #3, along with the 2 previous Victus prints:

4-21_posterprev 4-21_poster-rhino

I’ll try to add these to the online store after the show.  But C2E2 will be the first place you can get your hands on this new print!  Hope to see a lot of you there!  Mention the blog and get a special treat!

WHAT ELSE?

Well… I’ve been plugging away on Victus #3, inks on Upgrade Soul, and my two scifi romance short comics for Speculative Relationships.  And of course some Prophet fan art.  Here are some peeks:

4-21_victus-1 4-21_victus-2 4-21_victus-3

4-21_prophet-sketch 4-21_machine-sketch Prophet-warlove3-bw

 

Get to C2E2 this weekend and say hi!

– Tyrell

Leave a Reply

