Writing Process, Podcast Interviews, & STUFF

Woooo!  Things have been busy.  They still are, so I’ll just get right to it!

WRITING PROCESS

I was tagged in a blog tour recently by the amazing Beth Hetland and tasked with doing a post for the “My Writing Process blog tour”, answering 4 questions.  Beth had been tagged by the talented Cara Bean before that.  Here we go!

 1) What am I working on? 

Oh man… Ok…

– Victus # 3:  This is the newest issue of my sci-fi, metaphysical, religious, relationship comic.  It’s almost all pencilled!

– Speculative Relationships: The sci-fi romance comics anthology featuring some of my good pals that we are trying to get funded on Kickstarter (see more on this below).  I am doing 2 stories for this, which I just finished yesterday! Oh and I’m co-editor with Scott Kroll.

Upgrade Soul: I’m inking this amazing sci-fi iPad comic for Ezra Clayton Daniels. It’s a blast!


 2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?  
 I’d like to think that my work is different in that it’s not tied to the conventions of any one genre.  With Victus, I’m attempting to create my own genre, which takes influence from theology, psychology, and philosophy, but also reflects aspects of sci-fi, action, and romance.  I also try to bring in experimental elements which will hopefully expand the restrictions of any genre I work within.  I hope that makes sense?

3) Why do I write what I do? 

When I start any new project, it is usually because I need a vehicle to explore thoughts, ideas, and feelings I’m having.  I usually say that I make comics so that I can understand something better.  With my comic Gary, I wanted to gain more insight into how and why a serial killer exists and how that relates to my own experience and place in society.  With Victus, I want to explore communication and connections to a larger universal nature.  I rarely start writing something with an answer in mind.  I write because I have questions.

 4) How does your writing process work? 

I can’t write scripts.  I just can’t do it.  I feel that if you’re making comics, you really shouldn’t start with just words or just pictures.  So I find the process of writing a script counter-intuitive and out of place when making comics.  Generally, I start a comic with random notes and drawings.  These will be in sketchbooks, on my phone, on meeting agendas at work, etc.  After I have a pretty large log of these ideas, I try to organize them in a google spreadsheet (words/ideas) and folders (drawings).  I also start a project specific sketchbook at this point, where I will put all future content related to said project.  Then I start zero-ing in on key scenes/images/dialogue and organizing them into some kind of order.

Once I have a vague big-picture of the project, I’ll start the first issue/book.  I put together 8.5×11 sheets of paper folded in half and staple them, making a little blank book.  Then I start thumb-nailing.  As I thumb-nail, I write any words that I have figured out and plug in images from the sketchbook.  Once I have maybe… 80% of the book thumb-nailed/written, I’ll start in on the “big”/”final” drawings.  I guess what I’m trying to point out here is that I’ll start drawing the final comic with pretty significant gaps in the ‘story’.  Since I think of my process as a meditation on an idea, I like to leave room for certain questions to be answered as I work and bring about new content.  So I may not have certain lines of dialogue written until I’ve already drawn most of the first issue.  I think this helps in cutting down on unnecessary dialogue or images, and figuring out what’s actually important.  My writing process really doesn’t stop until I’ve filled in that final word balloon or inked that last line.

Wow… so my process is weird.  Now it’s my turn to tag some friends for next week!  I’m gonna go with Josh Shalek, Isabella Rotman, and Liam Cobb!

SPECULATIVE RELATIONSHIPS KICKSTARTER UPDATE

We have about two weeks left in the Kickstarter campaign for Speculative Relationships!  In promotion of the project, we’ve been doing artist interviews and podcast spots.  Here’s some o’that:

Rinko Endo Interview

Scott Kroll Interview

Isabella Rotman Interview

And we’ll have interviews with me, Daniel Warren Johnson, and Mike Manomivibul up next week!

Scott and I were both featured on a couple podcasts too:

 In This Issue Podcast (me & Scott)

The Womb Mates Podcasts (me)

We are a little over 60% now, so we still need your help to get this thing funded.  Check it OUT!

 …

THINGS FROM MY DRAWING TABLE:

BurningHeart-promo

BoDVduyIQAAHlXf

Tyrell-BFyb

– that’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

