Stay Busy

I’ve neglected my poor blog.  What’s crazy is that it’s not because stuff has been slow.  I feel like I’ve been running a marathon for the last 8 months.  But I wouldn’t have it any other way.  I’m just gonna ramble here…

SPECULATIVE RELATIONSHIPS

The book got printed, delivered, and read by our awesome backers.  I’m so proud of the work we did on this book.  It was so cool to see the pics our backers took with their copies:

SO COOL.

So we did a release party at the amazing Challengers comics and a signing at the cool Graham Crackers Comics.

tumblr_nbjcagOZmh1twn3lko1_1280

tumblr_nbpj8mGVwx1twn3lko1_1280

But we have one more event coming up where you can see us and get a copy of the book!  Come see us on October 24th at Quimby’s Bookstore:

tumblr_ncvi3bDrc61twn3lko1_500

We’ll have the book up for sale soon online in both print and digital formats.  I promise to do another post when we get that together.

VICTUS #3

Man, I can’t wait for you all to see the new issue of Victus.  It has been a BEAST to get through, but I think it represents a big step in my work and hopefully some really intriguing turns in the story.  I’m neck deep in figuring out printing, but once I’ve found the solutions, I’ll put up a pre-order page (with some cool bonuses).  For now, here’s some peeks into the book:

tumblr_n9wsxywJRd1sj9rrko1_500 tumblr_nb8icmY0211sj9rrko1_500 tumblr_nbvdyp5ubg1sj9rrko1_500 tumblr_nab1vxHUrb1sj9rrko1_500 tumblr_nblcxiK6t71sj9rrko1_500

FAN ART

I’ve still been doing some fan art for fun.  Here’s some Prophet:

tumblr_nb10yvqiZk1twn3lko4_500 tumblr_ncuolpotF31sj9rrko1_500 tumblr_ncsqkclESq1sj9rrko1_500

And here’s some fanart from Spread, by Justin Jordan & Kyle Strahm:

tumblr_nawabzzndN1sj9rrko1_500

Colors by my pal Gerald Proctor.  I would recommend you start picking up Spread, as this badboy might be making an appearance. 😉

FOOD

Sadly, one of the greatest places in Chicago, HOT DOUG’s, has closed.  It’s cool, as he chose to close, rather than being forced to because of low sales or rent or some other nonsense.  Doug’s was a special place that I frequented since college and always tried to take Chicago visitors to.  Doug said some awesome stuff about it in this interview, so Read It.

STUFF I LOVE

I’ve been really inspired by this stuff lately…

tumblr_nd794beCga1rwl7uko1_1280

Grim Wilkins is doing some really cool stuff in Prophet, but in general rocks.  Check him out.

Marble man for site

Lando, of Decadence Comics, just had a compilation released from Breakdown Press called Gardens of Glass.  It’s the real deal.

tumblr_n81i39h5pN1torcbno1_1280

REM by M.R. Trower is a super cool web-comic and I’m excited to see where it goes.

tumblr_nc3btbonHD1s6461ho1_1280

Liam Cobb.  Basically, everything Liam does is breathtaking.  He’s one to watch.

nausicaa_collection03_part03.nausicaa_vol_3_issue_3_pg_21_22

I finally started reading (for real) Hayao Miyazaki’s Nausicaa manga that my pal Dan let me borrow.  It be goooooood.

2014-10-06-sm-CH6-pg-19

Speaking of Daniel Warren Johnson… his current storyline of Space-Mullet is his strongest work to date.  Get on board now!

That’s all for now.  I have a lot more to tell ya’ll, but my computer at home just had a major malfunction, so I’m sneaking this out at work.  Let me know how you’re doing out there!

Leave a Reply

