My Favorite Things of 2014, Part 3: Music

And finally we have my picks for favorite music this year.  You can see my picks for comics and movies in the links you just read.

MUSIC

In a complete turnaround from last year’s slim pickings, this year was full of GREAT music!

Run the Jewels 2

RTJ

Killer Mike and El-P have done it again.  This follow up to their last collaboration hits hard.  The fantastic production and infectious rhymes of El-P are matched perfectly with the powerfully prophetic lyrics of Killer Mike.  I was fortunate enough to see these gents perform live a few weeks ago and they were amazing.  These are two very talented guys at the top of their game, clearly having a hell of a time making music.  Lucky for us, we get to hear it for FREE.

Pallbearer, Foundations of Burden

15036_4PAN_TUBE

I cheated and put Pallbearer’s first album on favorites list last year.  I was pumped for the release of their second album this year.  They did not disappoint.  The album’s production is a bit more slick, but doesn’t lose the raw low doom feel they had on the first record.  The vocals are much more consistent and powerful.  The lead guitar parts are haunting and beautiful.  Each song has a rise and fall, stretching out to almost 8-10 minutes for each track.  When I listen to the record, I feel like I’ve been taken on a journey.  I love that.  Also saw them live and they blew me away.

Little Dragon, Nabuma Rubberband

LittleDragon

Little Dragon is back with their signature hypno-pop-soul sound.  I have to admit, I am absolutely in love with lead singer Yukimi Nagano.  And how can one NOT be with that amazing voice of hers?  This record is a little less consistent in tone than the last, but still features some catchy and fun tunes like “Klapp Klapp” and “Paris” mixed in with chill electronic tracks.  Good stuff for the commute.

Helms Alee, Sleepwalking Sailors

HelmsAlee

I first discovered Helms Alee when I saw them live earlier this year.  The absolutely blew me away with their unique heavy sound.  I was particularly struck by the drumming of Hozoji Margullis (who I also have to admit having a crush on).  All three members of the band contribute to the vocals, giving extra layers of harmony to songs and adding to the overall depth of the record.  The wall of sound guitars are balanced great with the thumping rhythm section.  Juicy heavy stuff.

Future Islands, Singles

FutureIslands

Future Islands had been slowing growing on me over time, but this record really cemented my opinion of them.  This is definitely their most pop-y record (probably why it’s called singles), with SUPER catchy hooks and driving beats.  The weirdo vocals of Samuel T. Herring are definitely the highlight.  He was described by a friend of mine as sounding like a ‘robot vampire’.  I think that’s cool.

Mastodon, Once More ‘Round the Sun

Mastodon

It’s a new Mastodon record.  Is there anything else you need to know?

And that about wraps it up!  One last thing I’ll mention is that I did watch one of the movies on the ‘hadn’t seen it yet’ list.  Under the Skin.  I thought it was fantastic, haunting, and beautiful.  So I’m retroactively popping that on my favorite movies list as well.

Happy holidays ya’ll!

 

Leave a Reply

